home | forum | events | gallery | weather | locations

Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
News From Afar
 Northumbrian Windsurfing Club : News From Afar
Subject Topic: Board testing in Maui Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Skydivechris
Grommet

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 22 October 2008 at 1:01pm | IP Logged Quote Skydivechris

< http-equiv="Content-" content="text/; charset=utf-8">< name="ProgId" content="Word.">< name="Generator" content="Microsoft Word 12">< name="Originator" content="Microsoft Word 12">

Aloha NWC dudes!

Since I haven’t posted anything on any forum before, I thought I would make up for it with this whopper! My name is Chris and I live in Tynemouth. I have been windsurfing for 3 years but have not been out so much in Northumberland – something I intend to reverse this winter. Before I started windsurfing I was a professional skydiver! This sounds like confessions of a misspent youth!! Anyway I have just come back from an awesome trip to Maui – and I thought I would let the group know what I discovered.

For those of you who have considered making the trip, I thought I would give an insight as to what goes on in the “windsurfing Mecca of the world”.

I was extremely privileged to be invited to be a board tester for Windsurf Magazine – Americas largest windsurfing mag. This year we were testing 2009 short boards (around 85lts).  There were 12 testers in all – 11 Americans and me. Quite how a pretty averagely skilled tynemouthairian such as myself was included in such an event is pretty difficult to explain. I can say though that I am very very lucky.  This is the second year I have been to Maui and I can assure you I will be booking my flights for next year’s test very soon.